Finding Your Calling

When I was starting to think about college, I got to the point where I felt like I was standing in the middle of an intersection that split a million different ways. The options were endless, but all I wanted was to know what direction God wanted me to take. Not just the school, but mostly what to major in.

How do you figure out what to do with your life?

Pray

I prayed about it a lot and came to the conclusion that I should—I had absolutely no idea.

Notice what you’re good at

Okay, so I had a few ideas of what I didn’t want to do based on subjects in school I was either terrible at or didn’t like, but by no means did I feel God’s calling in my life.

So what did I do about it?

I asked my pastor. His response? “Do whatever you want to do and do it for God’s glory.” He apologized, admitting that that probably wasn’t very helpful.

And it wasn’t. At first…

So I kept praying about it.

Figure out what you enjoy

I thought about what my pastor said. But I didn’t know what I wanted to do. Why can’t God just divinely tell us these things? It’d be so much easier!

But despite my desire for a voice from the clouds, nothing came.

I thought back on my life up until that point and considered what I enjoyed. For me, it was guitar and writing. Did you read the section titled Notice what you’re good at? Pursuing a career with my guitar stopped there. As far as writing went, I felt like I was okay at it, and my grades confirmed it. I didn’t necessarily like everything in my English classes, and I didn’t like writing essays, but ever since I was a kid, I loved writing stories—even though I hadn’t done it in years.

When I was a young teenager, my mom started taking me to my women’s Bible study, which I loved. I enjoyed the studies and listening to women many years older than me share their wisdom. It helped me develop a desire to study the Bible.

One day, I got the idea to combine writing and my interest in studying the Bible so I decided to pursue writing Bible studies.

Go for it

When I decided to major in writing, most of my family members were less than thrilled. Many discouraged me saying I wouldn’t be able to make enough money to support myself, but it was too late. I decided that that was what God wanted me to do, and I would pursue it until He told me something different.

 

It’s okay if you don’t know what you want to do with your life. Keep praying about it. Make a list of what you’re good at and another list of the things you enjoy. Figure out if any line up. Highlight the things you enjoy the most and research possible jobs that might allow you to do those things.

You’re going to be in your career for a long time, so you may as well do something you want to do. And remember, you can do almost anything for God’s glory.

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. –1 Corinthians 10:31

Leave a Reply

