The Fatal Flaw

While at the Speak Conference a couple weeks ago, I had the opportunity to talk to several people about the various books I’m working on and have in mind. During one of my conversations, it was pointed out to me that my novel I’ve been editing this summer has what I’m now calling “the fatal flaw.”

What is the fatal flaw?

In fiction, it’s something that makes the story not plausible. Fiction must be plausible to make it work. Even if it’s fantasy, takes place somewhere we made up in our head, or is totally out there and unbelievable, every detail in it must line up perfectly and work together as a whole to be seamless. If one little thing in it isn’t plausible, we’ll lose credibility as a writer, and our readers will lose interest.

This is an important thing to keep in mind while creating a fictional world. If every point does not line up perfectly, it’s done there. One little bump could ruin everything. (That’s why the word “every” is in both bold and italics. Please take note of it.)

My manuscript has a fatal flaw. Now what?

This is where rewriting comes in. It may take some brainstorming to smooth out the story, but it’s worth it, and it’s worth rewriting because if it’s not fixed, there’s no point in writing, revising, or editing the rest of the story.

For those of you who have been following my blog this summer, I am only a little sad to say that I am now setting aside my manuscript with “the fatal flaw.” But know, if you have the same problem, I am by no means encouraging you to do the same thing! Keep working at it!

The decision to set aside this manuscript was difficult at first; however, there is a very specific reason I decided not to continue working on this particular manuscript this summer.

Stay tuned for that reason and to hear what I’m working on instead!

 

Leave a Reply

