Speak Up 2017 Changed My Life

Let me just start off by saying, if you’re a writer (or speaker) Speak Up is a must!

My first night at the conference, I sat down with a group of women who were ready to critique my writing. Taking in a deep breath, I handed over the first page of my precious novel for feedback. The group critiqued it and gave me some things to think about that I had never considered before. But even more importantly, they encouraged me in my writing, which led me to make the beneficial decision to share it with publishers and an agent later in the conference!

Throughout the weekend, I listened to excellent speakers who gave me numerous tips on writing, time management, and building a platform. One of my favorite takeaways from the conference is that, with an organized writing system, I can use even 5 minutes of free time to brainstorm or write! As one who finds herself very busy, this fact is gold!

But that’s not all!

In one conversation, I learned about different routes of publishing and why a writer might choose one over the other. A conversation with someone else helped me realize a fatal flaw that’s in one of my manuscripts (more on this in a future post)! This was hard to hear but absolutely necessary! I also now have a clearer idea on how to go forward in my writing, clarify my focus, and pursue publishers.

In addition to all of this (as if there could be more), I made connections with a ton of people, other writers, literary agents, social media experts, and publishers. I found people who are actually interested in my writing. My writing! I can hardly believe it!

The biggest thing I learned is that I’m not too young or inexperienced to write. Sitting down and talking to publishers and agents made me realize that my writing is important and my voice is needed (this goes for you too). But most importantly, I learned that I can do this! I just need to take the time to write.

If you find yourself with the opportunity to attend the Speak Up Conference, do it! You won’t regret it!

Interested in hearing more about Speak Up 2017? Follow the link below to see what others are saying about it!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

