Magnificent

Magnificent. The word is not powerful enough to describe God. No words can describe God. No scene, setting, picture, art—nothing, absolutely nothing, can describe God and His greatness.

We cannot comprehend it—God’s love, glory, beauty. It is beyond what our human minds can handle.

On the way home from vacation with my family, my mom was watching out the window. “Look!” she said. “There’s a waterfall! Can we stop?”

My brother and I groaned as my dad pulled over and turned around. We were still 9 hours from home and our hopes of getting back at a decent time evaporated.

Turns out, we didn’t get home until after one in the morning. But the stop was worth it.

My biggest regret was spending so much time taking pictures. It wasn’t until later that I realized I was so caught up in finding new angles that I didn’t take any time to praise God for what He created.

But God is so worthy of our praise.

It’s easy to get caught up in life when we’re on the road to wherever we’re headed, but it’s worth taking the time to slow down and remember Who put us on that road.

We don’t have to look far to find His beauty. It’s everywhere.

Psalm 95:4-5
In his hands are the depths of the earth, 
  and the mountain peaks belong to him.
The sea is his, for he made it,
  and his hands formed the dry land.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rena says:

    I do the same thing! Especially taking pics of the grandkids. Gotta tell myself to put the camera away and enjoy the fun.

    Like

    1. Julie Schwab says:

      It’s true! It’s easy to get so caught up trying to capture the moment that we forget to enjoy it! Yes, the pictures we take will last longer and be more vivid than our memories, but we can take a few pictures and move on and enjoy the fun! For me at least, I found myself taking several pictures that all looked very similar in the end. It wasn’t worth not enjoying or praising God in the moment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

