Why We Don’t Need Answers

I was driving home after visiting my parents for the holiday weekend when I started praying about some things I haven’t been able to get my mind off lately.

I didn’t know what to pray, so I just told God how I feel which led to questions as to what He’s doing in a couple areas of my life right now and why.

As I thought about it more, I realized there was no point in asking God for these answers.

A few months ago, a friend questioned the idea of how we might feel if we knew the grade we would get on a test we were going to take the next week.

I thought about it. If I knew what grade I’d get on the test, I wouldn’t have to panic about it. I could be at peace if it was good, and, if it was bad, I’d have time to mentally be okay with it. But at the same time, if I knew that I’d get a good score, I might not study, but if I knew I’d fail, I might study in all my free time, but then again, maybe I just wouldn’t study at all ever if that wouldn’t change my grade. But would it?

Where would the excitement or desire for life be if we knew how and why everything happens the way it does?

If I knew why this person is in my life right now, who I’m going to marry, what I’m going to be doing after grad school—or when I’m 30, sure, I might have things to look forward to, but there would be no mystery in life.

Where would the excitement be in getting to know someone new, taking a new class, or getting a new job?

This goes for the hard questions too. Why people hurt us, why things don’t go the way we plan, why that horrible thing had to happen. I still wonder why my lungs collapsed even though that was 5 years ago.

Often, the answer to these questions isn’t important. What is important, is that we trust God’s reasoning for and through everything we’re facing right now.

Psalm 9:10

Those who know your name trust in you,

    for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Ann Aschauer says:

    “And so, in the months following Mr. Walker’s accident, Faith Chapel had become a place where there were many more questions than answers, but where the questions did not seem to bother people as much as they had before. There was the peace of trusting that a loving God knew everything, and that if and when they needed an answer, it would be there for them. Meanwhile, the questions and mysteries were marvelous opportunities to exercise faith. And, of course, in the Christian life faith is what it was all about.”
    – “Mr. Walker’s Miracle” (Excerpted from VISION) Ann Aschauer

    Like

Leave a Reply

