God Hasn’t Forgotten You

You can plan out your life all you want, but God can do anything at any moment to change your plans—and it will turn out better than you imagined.

dscf1423family-2

I can’t say this weekend started off well. I’ve been struggling with feeling homesick for the first time since I moved out a year and a half ago, and I hardly know how to handle the feeling. It has resulted in minor depression, lots of hurt, and just trying to stay busy to try to bury it all.

My roommate went home for the weekend so Saturday morning was quiet. Things were going okay; I had plans to do my laundry—I like doing laundry.

I called my mom and talked as I gathered and sorted dirty clothes. I was still on the phone when I loaded everything into the washing machine and realized I was twenty-five cents short on my laundry card to dry two loads of laundry.

I continued talking on the phone while I trudged back upstairs and grabbed a dollar to go reload the card.

After three trips back and forth from my dorm to the cafeteria where the laundry card machine is, I was nearly in tears because my card wouldn’t load and I would have to hang dry half of my laundry.

My mom tried to encourage me, but it didn’t help much. All I wanted was to go home.

Three hours, lunch, several damp clothes, and a borrowed laundry card later, I got another phone call from my mom.

“Can we come visit you?” she asked.

My thoughts raced. Next weekend? “When?”

“Now.”

Within three hours my family loaded up overnight bags, booked a hotel, and drove across the state.

Going into this weekend, all I hoped for was to get ahead on my homework, do some laundry, and maybe not feel so depressed. I wanted to feel loved but doubted I would as I figured I’d be alone all weekend. Coming out of the weekend I felt that God did not forget me. He saw the need I had and He filled it in the way He knew would suit me best.

I managed to get the bulk of my homework done in that three hour block it took my family to get here. No, I didn’t get ahead on my assignments, but I’m certainly not behind and this weekend turned out to be better than I could have possibly imagined.

School is hard. Work is hard. Life is hard. But God hasn’t forgotten you.

Psalm 139:1-3

O Lord, you have searched me and known me!

You know when I sit down and when I rise up;

    you discern my thoughts from afar.

You search out my path and my lying down

    and are acquainted with all my ways.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mikayla says:

    Love you and your sweet heart, Julie. Thankful I get to do life with you, on the good days and bad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

