Passion 2017: “Do You Want To Hear What I Have To Say?”

20170103_140138
Photo by Abbye Tucker

Passion 2017 was an exciting experience for me on many levels, but the one thing I looked forward to the most was getting to see Beth Moore speak live.

For those of you who don’t know, Beth Moore’s Bible studies were my main inspiration when I first decided that I myself want to write Bible studies. Meeting her in person would be a dream come true but seeing her speak live was half-way there.

Since I carried this excitement, my best friend and I talked about it quite a bit. She made fun of me for being a “fan” (I don’t like that term, but I really can’t deny it) but talked about the fact that the speakers are human too, they just happen to be famous.

At the conference, I noticed that there was something about the speakers and bands being put up on a big screen that made them feel higher or more important than us. Looking at their tiny dots of bodies on the stage reminded me that they indeed human too.

When Francis Chan got up to speak, he said something along the line of “Do you want to hear what I have to say?” Of course the room erupted in cheers, but I loved his response. “No, no you don’t!” he said. “You want to hear what God has to say!”

It was a good reminder to me that God is the one we should be excited to meet face to face.

I’ve been noticing lately the weight that people put on speakers and worship leaders. They carry on about how they said something that changed their lives and how great that person is. These speakers and worship leaders are there to magnify God, not themselves, yet, many times the glory goes to them instead of Him.

My desire to meet Beth Moore hasn’t changed and my excitement over seeing her speak live hasn’t faded, but my longing to lift God up and praise Him for those who make Him known has grown.

Instead of wondering what it would be like to meet Beth Moore, I can praise God for her words and that they can bring me closer to Him.

Yes, speakers, and worship leaders are great because they help bring us closer to God, but they are not more important than God Himself. We must be careful to never forget Who we are supposed to be praising.

Psalm 138:1-2

Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord from the heavens;
    praise him in the heights!
 Praise him, all his angels;
    praise him, all his hosts!

Leave a Reply

