Passion 2017: The Most Important Thing I Learned

passion

Exactly a week ago at this time I was preparing to attend the final day of Passion 2017.

Passion is a conference for 18-25 year olds that takes place near the first of the year. Big name speakers and bands set out to encourage our generation and to make Jesus known. We are there for Christ—to glorify Him.

This year, I heard that Passion had 70,000 attenders. To help us meet other people, we broke off into community groups a few times throughout the conference. Although the groups still had around 10,000 people each, they allowed us to get to know seven to nine other people so we could process the conference together.

On the second night of Passion, in our community groups, we were discussing things that we tend to put before God. Phones and social media were common answers. Others included money, relationships, future and education.

I thought about it for a few minutes as we took turns answering. I agreed with what everyone was saying in that I have the same struggle, but I felt like there was something else to it. Another struggle I couldn’t quite name.

Finally, I figured it out.

I’ve been putting God’s plan for my life before God Himself.

For the past few years I’ve been so focused on what God is doing in my life and how He’s going to do it that, to an extent, I’ve been ignoring my relationship with Him.

It was strange and difficult for me to pinpoint this since it feels like I’m putting God first when my focus is on His will and plan for my life.

Instead of getting out of bed every morning to make my day out to glorify God, I get up to take another step toward what I believe His plan for me is.

I imagine it’s like being engaged and spending every moment getting ready for the wedding rather than taking time to love and get to know the future spouse better. Yes, the wedding is important, but not more important than the fiancé.

Although this was a convicting thing to learn and admit, I am so excited that I did realize this. Up until that night, I had never considered the possibility of putting God’s will before Him.

But now I have something to work on. My true purpose in life—glorifying God.

Now instead of waking up every day to move toward my future, I need to focus on living in the moment and using every moment of every day to give glory to God.

I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart;

    I will glorify your name forever. –Psalm 86:12

Leave a Reply

