Yes, that Compliment was Meant for You

screenshot-17

I recently received an email from my New Testament professor suggesting that I consider a Bible minor because, based on my work for that class, it seems I have a knack for it.

When I first got the email my thoughts immediately went to, “Did he mean to send that to me? Maybe he got my assignment mixed up with someone else’s. I didn’t think it was that great. Maybe, because I can write well, it made the rest of the assignment look good. Wait until he sees my next assignment—he will wish he didn’t send that email.”

I thought about it some more and realized that I’ve doubted myself a lot throughout my life. In fact, I remember being in high school classes and raising my hand every time I did a small section of a math problem to ask the teacher to if I was doing it right. One teacher finally told me to stop doubting myself and just do the work.

It’s almost as if it’s engraved in our human nature to doubt ourselves. So much so that when someone compliments us, we think for sure they mixed something up.

I think sometimes we try to downplay compliments because we want to appear humble, but I also think that we don’t always feel worthy of those compliments. I’ve heard and experienced that it’s easier to believe in other people than it is for us to believe in ourselves.

We don’t always realize what we are capable of and the thought of ourselves actually doing certain things is scary. Finishing school, publishing a book—that’s so much work, and am I really good enough for it?

You’ll never know if you don’t try. Maybe you’re better at it than you think.

What if we stop doubting ourselves and trust what God made us for? When someone compliments us, instead of assuming they made some mistake, what if we take it as a nudge from God that we are in the right place?

Leave your doubt behind you and believe in yourself.

 Proverbs 3:5

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,

    and do not lean on your own understanding.

Leave a Reply

