Follow God’s Path Even When the World Says It’s Impossible

Markers_levelsWhenever I meet new people I get flooded with the typical questions, “You’re in college? What’s your major? What do you want to do with that?” For the past two years my answer to that final question has been simple: to write Bible studies.

This shocks just about everyone. The unbelievers are the most hesitant, but interestingly enough, they still find it fascinating and often want to know more. Christians get excited about the idea and just about everyone tells me that they have never heard of anyone wanting to write Bible studies before. They’re impressed that I’m so young but so sure of what I want to do.

Of course I like hearing this, but it has surprisingly grown old. People associate my confident knowledge in what I want to do with maturity. Am I really that mature though?

I don’t fully know if I actually ever will write Bible studies, but I feel called to it. I doubt this all the time and whether or not majoring in Creative Writing is really what I’m supposed to do.

All I know is that God has blessed me immensely over the past year. I’ve gotten everything I asked Him for and way more. Everything I received has exceeded my expectations. With this in mind, I truly believe that I am exactly where God wants me to be.

When I confidently tell people that I want to write Bible studies and they start asking questions, I get a little nervous. Not about my life choices, but whether or not I actually will end up writing Bible studies.

Here is my reasoning and thought process:

Somewhere between ages 14 and 18 I felt the call in my life to write Bible studies. No, it wasn’t a thunderbolt or anything huge; it was just God showing me the talents and gifts He has already given me and how to use them to serve Him.

I decided I wanted to write Bible studies after doing them with a Bible group through my church. This group consisted of women who were probably ages 30 and up, mostly 45 and up. I loved listening to the women and did my best to gain as much wisdom from them as possible. Through the process, I fell in love with Bible studies and developed a desire to study the Bible.

I came to the conclusion that I didn’t want a regular job. Why would I? I don’t want to do what everyone else is doing. I figured I could use my gift of writing and desire to study the Bible together, for God’s glory, by writing Bible studies.

Since I felt this calling, I decided to run after it with everything I have. I figured if God wants me to do it, even though there are many people around me who seem to doubt that I can, and the goal often seems too big and too impossible, I know that God will get me where I need to go.

However, I also know that God can put me on a path to get me where He wants me to be, and then He can choose to call me to something different. This has been my attitude entering this process. And by process, I mean college and everything along with it.

For all I know, God put this desire in my heart to get me in the position I am now so He can do something with my life even though He may change my desires and plans.

Psalm 37:4 says, “Delight yourself in the LORD and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Many people take this as God giving us whatever we want if we delight in Him, but what if it means that He changes our desires to align with His?

I want my desires to align with God’s plan for my life.

So when you ask me what I want to do with my life, and I say that I want to write Bible studies, know that that is tentative to whatever God tells me to do. But for now, this is what He called me to do, so I am going to run after it with my everything.

If God is calling you to do something. Do it. Don’t wait.

God has a plan for all of us and a path for us to follow. The markings to that path may seem hidden, but they are there. Look for them. Seek Him out. No matter what, trust His plan. It can be hard at times, but when you are in the will of God, you will find joy. Life may not always, or ever, be easy, but joy is possible.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.  –Jeremiah 29:11-13

Leave a Reply

